Houston communities / Northwest Houston

The Grand Prairie: Homes, HOA and Community Guide

Hockley in northwest Harris County, about one mile south of US 290 and about six miles west of the Grand Parkway (SH 99), roughly 35 miles from Downtown Houston; reached from US 290 at the Hegar Road exit, then Warren Ranch Road. Welcome center: 16507 Verbena Glen Dr, Hockley, TX 77447.

Keeping It Real with Michael O’Neal

Why Live in The Grand Prairie? The Good, The Bad & The Reality

Want a new home with a 70-acre lake for kayaks and fishing, at prices that start near $214,000? The Grand Prairie may fit. Just understand it sits about 36 miles from Downtown Houston by the developer's own count, and a lot of what is planned is still being built.

Neighborhood Reality Check

Why You’ll Love It

  • A wide price spread in one plan
  • Lake Ember and nine more lakes
  • Two amenity complexes

What Might Surprise You

  • A long way from central Houston
  • Much is still on the site plan
  • The water district is not named

Everyday Convenience

  • ER: HCA Houston Healthcare North Cypress, 13 mi
  • Park: Zube Park, 3.1 mi

Straight-line miles.

Michael’s Take

The Grand Prairie gets a lot right for the price, especially the lake and the spread of builders.

Compare nearby:

Five Reasons People Love Living in The Grand Prairie

  1. 1
    A wide price spread in one plan

    The developer lists Lennar collections from $213,990 up to Shea and Westin homes on 60 to 70 foot homesites in the $500s and $600s.

    The Grand Prairie: Builders

  2. 2
    Lake Ember and nine more lakes

    The developer describes the 70-acre Lake Ember for paddleboarding, kayaking and catch-and-release fishing, nine other lakes and about 450 acres of green space.

    The Grand Prairie: FAQs The Grand Prairie: Have fun

  3. 3
    Two amenity complexes

    The Sundancer is a 6,700 sq ft center on a 6.3-acre campus with two resort-style pools, a splash park and a zip line, and The Starlight is open with a lap-lane pool and pickleball courts.

    The Grand Prairie: Have fun

  4. 4
    Direct US 290 access

    The community is about a mile south of US 290, reached from the Hegar Road exit and Warren Ranch Road.

    The Grand Prairie: Directions Realty News Report: The Grand Prairie

  5. 5
    One school district

    The developer lists Waller ISD for the community, with an on-site Waller ISD elementary planned.

    The Grand Prairie: Education

Five Things You Should Know Before Moving to The Grand Prairie

  1. 1
    A long way from central Houston

    The developer puts the community about 36 miles from Downtown Houston, via US 290 and I-610 or I-10. The nearest emergency hospital on our list is 13.1 straight-line miles away.

    The Grand Prairie: Location The Grand Prairie: Directions HCA Houston Healthcare North Cypress

  2. 2
    Much is still on the site plan

    The developer says build-out will take many years and that plans, including amenities and the on-site school site, can change. The elementary was listed as coming soon with no date.

    The Grand Prairie: Site plan The Grand Prairie: Education

  3. 3
    The water district is not named

    Water and sewer come from a district operated by Municipal District Services, but no official page names the district or its tax rate, and the only combined tax figure found came from a builder. Get the district and rate from the HCAD record.

    Grand Prairie Master Community: local contacts Harris Central Appraisal District

  4. 4
    Leasing has rules and a fee

    Owners who lease must register each tenant through CCMC, file the lease so management can check it against the CC&Rs, and pay a $300 annual rental registration fee.

    Grand Prairie Master Community: leasing and rentals

  5. 5
    Shopping is not here yet

    The Shops at Grand Prairie was listed as now leasing with no tenants named on Oct. 20, 2026, and the developer points to Houston Premium Outlets for bigger trips.

    The Grand Prairie: Commercial

Who Might Love The Grand Prairie?

  • Buyers who want a wide spread of builders and price points in one plan
  • Buyers who want a lake for paddling and fishing inside the community
  • Buyers who use US 290 and are fine living farther out for a lower entry price
  • Buyers who want one school district, Waller ISD

Who Might Prefer Somewhere Else?

  • If you want to be closer in on US 290 with more resale choice, look at Cypress.
  • If you want an H-E-B and restaurants already open inside the master plan, compare Bridgeland.
  • If you want a lagoon amenity on the Katy side, see Sunterra.

Everyday Convenience in The Grand Prairie

Main routes: US 290 at the Hegar Road exit, then Warren Ranch Road, with the Grand Parkway (SH 99) about six miles east. The Grand Prairie: Directions Realty News Report: The Grand Prairie

Distances are straight-line from the approximate center of The Grand Prairie, not driving distance or time; your street and route change the real trip. Each place links to its official site; a list is not a recommendation.

The Real Estate Reality

HOA dues$1,200 per year (as shown 2026-10-20 (year not stated on the page))Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc.

Median closed sale price, recent closed sales, price per square foot, days on market and inventory for The Grand Prairie come from the MLS, and HAR’s public pages do not publish them by neighborhood, so we do not show them here. Ask for a current MLS report for the streets you are considering. Full sources are on the The Grand Prairie Fact Sheet.

Michael’s Take Broker opinion, based on the sourced facts above

My take: The Grand Prairie gets a lot right for the price, especially the lake and the spread of builders. The two things I want settled before you sign are the water district's actual tax rate, since no public page we checked names the district, and whether you have driven the US 290 commute at rush hour. If both work for you, the entry prices are worth a serious look.

The Grand Prairie vs. Nearby Neighborhoods

The Grand Prairie vs. Bridgeland

Choose Bridgeland and you gain: An H-E-B and restaurants in Bridgeland Central, open activity centers and direct Grand Parkway access.

You give up: Higher starting builder prices ($334,990 on Oct. 20, 2026) and three possible school districts.

The Grand Prairie vs. Sunterra

Choose Sunterra and you gain: An open 2.7-acre Crystal Lagoon, 16 builders and Katy ISD for most sections.

You give up: $1.50 MUD rates, a Harris and Waller County split and a disputed $1,000 leasing fee.

The Grand Prairie vs. Cypress

Choose Cypress and you gain: Closer-in US 290 neighborhoods with resale homes and the Cypress Park and Ride to downtown.

You give up: Older homes in many subdivisions and the Cypress Creek flood record from Harvey in 2017.

Questions buyers ask about The Grand Prairie

Is The Grand Prairie a good place to live?

It suits buyers who want a new home at an entry price with room to choose among six builders, a 70-acre lake for paddling and fishing, two amenity complexes and Waller ISD. Check the water district's tax rate on the HCAD record, the leasing rules if you may rent, and the commute down US 290.

Sources: The Grand Prairie: Builders The Grand Prairie: FAQs The Grand Prairie: Have fun Checked Oct 28, 2026

What are the downsides of living in The Grand Prairie?

It is about 36 miles from Downtown Houston by the developer's count, retail and the on-site school are not open yet, and build-out will take many years. The water district and its tax rate are not named on official pages, and leasing requires registration and a $300 annual fee.

Sources: The Grand Prairie: Builders The Grand Prairie: FAQs The Grand Prairie: Have fun Checked Oct 28, 2026

Researched and checked Oct 28, 2026. Facts link to their sources; Michael’s take is his opinion.

Every neighborhood has its advantages and tradeoffs. Before you buy, let’s talk about what actually matters to you.

Michael O’Neal
Broker | REALTOR® · The Michael O’Neal Group
Keller Williams Realty Northeast
Call or text: 832-797-3780 · themichaelonealgroup.com

Neighborhood fact sheet

The Grand Prairie Fact Sheet

The key facts on one sheet. Every figure links to its source, and each card shows the date it was last checked (sheet updated Oct 28, 2026).

Check the address. Property taxes, flood zone, HOA dues and school assignments are set for each address and can differ between homes in the same neighborhood. Before relying on anything on this sheet, look the address up in the official tools linked here.

Homes

We have not published HAR neighborhood statistics for The Grand Prairie yet, because HAR does not show one neighborhood record that matches this page. Ask us for a recent-sales report for the streets you are considering.

Request recent sales

Property taxes

We have not confirmed an official rate list for The Grand Prairie. Every address has its own set of taxing units; the appraisal district account lists them.

HOA dues

  • Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. $1,200 per year (as shown 2026-10-20 (year not stated on the page)) Source

Published by the association or its manager. Some homes owe more than one association; the resale certificate for the address shows what applies. Association details.

Schools

School assignments and attendance boundaries can change. Confirm the assigned schools directly with the district before making a housing decision.

Flood research

Flood zones are mapped parcel by parcel, and no guide can tell you whether a particular house has flooded or will flood. Ask the seller for the flood disclosure and any elevation certificate.

Nearby essentials

Parks and nature

Golf clubs and courses

Straight-line distance from the approximate center of The Grand Prairie, not driving distance or time. Each name links to its official site. A list is not a recommendation or a ranking.

See The Grand Prairie on the area map

Checked Oct 28, 2026

Area map

Ask Michael about The Grand Prairie

Due diligence

What Buyers Should Know Before Moving Here

Every Houston neighborhood has important details that buyers should understand before purchasing. Here are three key things to investigate before making an offer in The Grand Prairie.

01

Waller ISD, Harris County and an unnamed water district

The Grand Prairie is in Harris County and Waller ISD. 2025 adopted rates per $100 (Harris County Tax Office): Waller ISD $1.0626, Harris County $0.38096, Flood Control $0.04966, Hospital $0.18761, Port $0.0059, Department of Education $0.0048, and Waller-Harris ESD 200 $0.10 where it levies. Water and sewer come from a district operated by Municipal District Services; get its name and adopted rate from the HCAD record.

  • School homestead exemption: $140,000.
  • A seller or builder must give the statutory MUD notice before you sign.

Before you make an offer: Pull the HCAD record for the lot, identify the water district and any WCID, and look up their adopted rates before estimating your payment.

02

A young master plan with years to go

EMBER is developing The Grand Prairie in phases on about 1,700 acres in Hockley, with builders including David Weekley, Lennar, Perry, Shea, Village Builders and Westin. The developer's site plan says build-out will take many years and plans may change; builder incentives in October 2026 were tied to specific homes or lenders.

  • Ask which amenity, school and road projects are funded and scheduled, not just drawn on the site plan.
  • Read each builder's warranty and incentive terms in the contract.

Before you make an offer: Before you sign, compare the site plan with what is built today and get the builder's contract, warranty and any lender-tied incentive in writing.

03

HOA, CCMC management and leasing rules

Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. is managed by CCMC (on-site office, 346-405-1180). Get current dues from CCMC or the resale certificate. Owners who lease pay a $300 annual rental registration fee. Transfer, resale certificate and capital contribution fees are behind the resident login.

Before you make an offer: Ask CCMC for the resale certificate or the builder's HOA disclosure and confirm dues, closing fees and the leasing restrictions before the option period ends.

Before You Buy in The Grand Prairie

Your ticks stay on this device. Print or save this checklist as a PDF.

Have Questions About Buying in The Grand Prairie?

Michael O’Neal and The Michael O’Neal Group can help you compare neighborhoods, evaluate property-specific considerations, and make informed real estate decisions.

Michael O’Neal | Broker | REALTOR®
The Michael O’Neal Group
Keller Williams Realty Northeast
Call or Text: 832-797-3780

Buyer questions

Buying in The Grand Prairie: common questions

What are the pros and cons of living in The Grand Prairie?

The Grand Prairie offers a wide range of builder prices, lakes and open space, and quick US 290 access. Buyers should weigh several taxing units including a utility district, about 36 miles to Downtown Houston, amenities and a school site still being built, and a $300 annual fee for owners who lease.

Sources: The Grand Prairie: Builders · David Weekley Homes: The Grand Prairie 40 Checked Oct. 22, 2026

What should buyers know before buying a home in The Grand Prairie?

Identify the water district and its rate on the HCAD record, compare the site plan with what is built, read the builder's contract and warranty, and get dues and leasing rules from CCMC. Check the address on FEMA's map and HCFCD's tool.

Sources: The Grand Prairie: FAQs · HCFCD Flood Education Mapping Tool Checked Oct. 22, 2026

Moving to The Grand Prairie?

Get the free The Grand Prairie relocation guide.

A printable PDF built from the research on this page, with every fact linked to its source:

  • What residents may love and what buyers should consider in The Grand Prairie
  • The three things to check here before you make an offer:
    • Waller ISD, Harris County and an unnamed water district
    • A young master plan with years to go
    • HOA, CCMC management and leasing rules
  • Communities worth comparing, the relocation checklist and the out-of-town buying steps

Free The Grand Prairie guide

Answer 3 quick questions

Question 1 of 3

When are you planning to move?

Quick overview

History and development

Opened April 13, 2024 with a festival called 'The Grandest Opening'; nearly 500 homes were expected by spring 2025. Source

Homes and construction

1,730 acres (the developer FAQ also says about 1,700). Production homes from builders on 40', 45', 50', 60', 65' and 70' homesites; the developer says it does not offer custom homes. Source

Developer price range: mid $200s to $700s+. Source

Lennar is the exclusive builder in The Highlands section (40', 45' and 50' lots) and had started more than 200 homes there by November 2024. Source

Location and getting around

Developer location page: Hockley is about 36 miles northwest of Downtown Houston and US 290 is less than two miles away; Zube Park (225 acres) is nearby and Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospital is described as minutes away. Source

Everyday life

About 450 acres of parks and green space, 20 miles of planned trails, the 70-acre Lake Ember plus nine other named lakes, two amenity complexes and a 40-foot overlook hill. Source

Market notes

RCLCO ranked The Grand Prairie No. 17 nationally in 2025 with 639 new-home sales; the developer FAQ cites a No. 15 ranking on a 2026 list. Source

Rules worth knowing

Owners who lease must register the tenant and lease with CCMC and pay a $300 annual rental registration fee. Source

Developer and builders

Developer: EMBER Real Estate Investment & Development, a Houston land development firm founded by Harry Masterson, Jordan Mack and Vicente Rangel. Source

The community website's developer page names EMBER and describes it as a master-planned community developer; it names no other EMBER communities. Source

Builders listed on the developer site on 2026-10-20: David Weekley Homes, Lennar, Perry Homes, Shea Homes, Village Builders, Westin Homes (the home page filter also shows Sitterle Homes). Source

Why buyers are looking at The Grand Prairie

  • RCLCO 2025 top-selling MPCs nationally: No. 17, 639 sales (2025 calendar year) RCLCO
  • RCLCO mid-2026 top-selling MPCs: No. 35, 259 sales (mid-2025: No. 21, 299) (Jan-Jun 2026) RCLCO
  • JBREC 2025 Texas regional top 10: Texas No. 4, 639 sales (2025) John Burns Research and Consulting
  • RCLCO 2024 top-selling MPCs: No. 41, 436 sales (2024) RCLCO
  • Developer FAQ ranking claim: No. 15 on the 2026 list of top-selling master-planned communities; 'top five-selling communities in Texas' (not stated) EMBER (developer)

Rankings and counts are quoted as their publishers reported them, with the period. They describe sales activity, not a recommendation.

Homes and market

The Grand Prairie homes for sale and neighborhood facts

Live listings in The Grand Prairie

Every active listing from every brokerage, through our HAR.com MLS search. This search uses the subdivision name "Grand Prairie" in ZIP code 77447, since HAR lists the community both with and without "The"; ask us for an exact list.

Listings provided through HAR.com (Houston Association of REALTORS® Information Service); information believed accurate but not guaranteed. Open this search in a new window · Search all Houston homes

Researched and maintained by The Michael O’Neal Group, Keller Williams Realty Northeast. Michael O’Neal, Broker · REALTOR®, Texas broker license #624124. Last reviewed October 14, 2026. About Michael

For homeowners

Selling a home in The Grand Prairie?

Our The Grand Prairie seller guide covers HAR market data, what buyers will ask about and what to have ready, plus a free, no-obligation pricing review.

Every neighborhood has its advantages and tradeoffs. Before you buy, let’s talk about what actually matters to you.

Michael O’Neal
Broker | REALTOR® · The Michael O’Neal Group
Keller Williams Realty Northeast
Call or text: 832-797-3780 · themichaelonealgroup.com

The Grand Prairie market facts

MeasureValuePeriod
HAR community page average sale price$455,745as shown 2026-10-20 (HAR averages; period not stated) Source
HAR community page average price per sq ft$172.63as shown 2026-10-20 Source
HAR community page average size2,677 sq ftas shown 2026-10-20 Source
HAR community page average rent$2,080/monthas shown 2026-10-20 Source
HAR Hockley market area median sold price (wider area, not the community alone)$339,974HAR market update, October 2026 Source
HAR Hockley market area average days on market (wider area)67.2 daysHAR market update, October 2026 Source
HAR Hockley market area months of inventory (wider area)6.2 monthsHAR market update, October 2026 Source
HAR Hockley market area listings change (wider area)Listings up 77.9% year over yearHAR market update, October 2026 Source

Figures are as HAR.com or the named source showed them on the date checked; market-area figures cover a wider area than the community. They are not live and not a value for any one home. For a home’s value, ask for a pricing review.

New construction and builders

BuilderCollectionsAdvertised fromLotsQuick move-inChecked
David Weekley Homes - Meadow CollectionMeadow CollectionFrom $277,990 (header: from the $277s)40'8 quick move-ins2026-10-20 Source
David Weekley Homes - Retreat CollectionRetreat CollectionFrom $361,99050' (a newer section offers 60')13 quick move-ins2026-10-20 Source
LennarCottage (from $213,990); Bristol & Coastline (from $249,990); Bristol & Coastline Highlands Section (from $249,990); Watermill (from $237,990); Classic (from $236,990); Eventide (from $247,990); Richmond and Woodbridge (from $313,990)From $213,990 (Cottage)40', 45', 50' (developer promos page)2026-10-20 Source
Perry Homes40' and 50' homesites40': $310,000-$390,000; 50': $400,000-$530,00040', 50'2026-10-20 Source
Shea Homes60' series$549,990-$620,000 (headline: from the $500s)60', 65', 70'2026-10-20 Source
Westin Homes45' and 60' models45': $430,000-$500,000; 60': $600,000-$630,000 (headline: from the $400s)45', 60', 65', 70'2026-10-20 Source
Village Builders45' lots$310,000-$376,000 (headline: from the $300s)45'2026-10-20 Source

Builder incentives shown on the day we checked

  • David Weekley Homes: New Employee Pricing Event in Houston: limited-time savings on select new homes in the Houston area (image text: up to $40,000 in new home savings). Terms: Terms are only on the linked promotion page, which was not read; applies to select homes. Checked 2026-10-20. Source
  • David Weekley Homes: Buy Now, Get More in The Grand Prairie: a special move-in package with purchase of a move-in ready home. Terms: Move-in ready homes only; package contents and terms on the linked page, not read. Checked 2026-10-20. Source
  • Lennar: Special promotions when financing through Lennar Mortgage. Conditions are not shown on the builder’s page; ask the builder. Checked 2026-10-20. Source

Incentives change often and come with conditions (preferred lender, contract or closing deadlines, specific homes). They are quoted only as each builder showed them on the date listed; confirm with the builder before you rely on one. See verified builder incentives.

Prices are the builder’s or developer’s advertised starting prices on the date checked, not a quote. Register your own agent on your first visit; the builder’s sales staff represent the builder. New construction guide.

Sections and phases

  • Phase one (developer site plan)Selling now Source
  • The Highlands (Lennar exclusive; location of The Starlight)Selling now Source
  • David Weekley 60' section ('newer section')Selling now Source
  • Later phasesFuture Source

Getting around: main routes

ToMain route
Downtown HoustonSunrise Prairie to Warren Ranch Rd, Hegar Rd to US 290 east, then I-610 and I-10 east (reverse of the developer's directions from Houston: I-10 W, I-610 N, US 290 W 28 miles, Hegar Rd exit, Warren Ranch Rd 1.5 miles, right on Sunrise Prairie) Source
Katy (I-10 west side)Hegar Rd to US 290 east, Grand Parkway (SH 99) south to I-10 (reverse of the developer's directions from Katy) Source
BrenhamHegar Rd to US 290 west Source
Memorial Hermann Cypress HospitalUS 290 corridor (developer says the hospital is minutes away; road sequence not given) Source

Routes from official, transportation agency or developer sources. Drive times depend on the exact address and the hour; test the drive at the times you would commute.

Shopping, jobs and what is being built nearby

  • Planned: The Shops at Grand Prairie at Kickapoo Rd and Betka Rd (21,000 sq ft retail, leasing). Planned: on-site Waller ISD elementary and a dog park. Completed: The Starlight. The Sundancer grand opening is promoted on the developer site. Source
  • The developer's location page points to Houston Premium Outlets (open-air outlet center) for shopping. Source
  • The developer's location page names Downtown Houston's employers generally; no specific employment centers are named. Source

Projects are labeled as their sources describe them (planned, approved, under construction or open). Plans change.

Flood zones and property flood research

  • The developer says Lake Ember (70 acres) was engineered with Harris County Flood Control District to manage drainage and reduce flood risk in the Cypress Creek watershed. This is the developer's claim. Source
  • Harris County Flood Control District's Flood Education Mapping Tool shows mapped floodplains, watersheds, ponding and channels by address; use it for any specific lot. Source
  • HB 4592 created Harris County WCID 164 to build and operate drainage improvements on about 192 acres; its connection to The Grand Prairie is not confirmed by an official source. Source

A neighborhood name does not tell you a home’s flood risk. For any specific address, check the FEMA flood map and the county’s tools, read the seller’s disclosure for prior flooding and claims, ask for any elevation certificate, and get a flood insurance quote during your option period.

Open the Flood Map Center Property flood checklist

Advantages and tradeoffs

Advantages

  • Wide builder price spread on one master plan: Lennar collections from $213,990 up to Shea and Westin 60'-70' homesites in the $500s-$600s. Source
  • Water-centered amenities: 70-acre Lake Ember, nine other lakes, about 450 acres of green space and two amenity complexes. Source
  • HOA dues published by the developer at $1,200 a year. Source

Tradeoffs to weigh

  • Builders show a combined tax total around 3.29%, so the tax bill weighs heavily in the monthly payment; the water district's own rate was not published on pages checked. Source
  • About 36 miles from Downtown Houston by US 290 and I-610/I-10. Source
  • Amenities and the on-site school are still being built out; the developer says plans can change and the build-out will take many years. Source
  • Owners who lease pay a $300 annual rental registration fee and must file the lease with management. Source

Owner and buyer resources

The Grand Prairie HOA, Documents, Taxes and Services

The public facts an owner or buyer needs, with a link to the official source for each. Last checked Oct 20, 2026.

HOA contacts and fees

Master association

Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc.

Applies to: The Grand Prairie (no sub-associations found on the sources checked)

Management
CCMC (Community Manager Otis Chandler; on-site office 16155 Sonneblume Park Drive, Hockley, TX 77447, Mon-Fri 9-5) · 346-405-1180 (community manager); 866-244-2262 (CCMC customer service); 1-800-274-3165 (after-hours HOA emergency) · [email protected] · Website Source
Association website
mygrandprairietx.com
Resident portal
Owner login (owners only; we did not access it)
Published assessment
$1,200 per year for as shown 2026-10-20 (year not stated on the page)
homes in The Grand Prairie ('Homeowners Association Annual Dues (CCMC)') Source
Other published fees
  • Annual rental registration fee (owners who lease): $300 Source
  • Transfer, resale certificate and capital contribution fees: Not published on the public pages checked (assessments page and document library require a resident login) Source

Association source

HOA summaries are informational. The recorded governing documents and the association’s written confirmation control. Fees change; confirm current amounts before you rely on them.

HOA and community document center

4 public documents from the association, management company and public agencies, organized by association and type. Every link opens the official copy; we don’t host or alter them. Versions marked “not confirmed” may have been replaced; ask the association for the current set.

Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. 3 documents

Rules and policies 1
  • Home Leases (leasing and rentals)

    Owners who lease must register tenants through the BUURT portal, file a copy of the current lease with management for CC&R compliance review, and pay a $300 annual rental registration fee after approval; tenants get amenity access only after owner and tenant forms are complete. The page links a separate community leasing restrictions PDF; minimum lease term and short-term rental rules are not stated on the page.

    Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. / CCMC · Applies to: all · Checked Oct 13, 2026
    View official document
Budgets, assessments and fees 1
  • AssessmentsVersion not confirmed

    Assessment and payment page on the association site; redirected to a resident login on 2026-10-20.

    Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. · Applies to: all · Checked Oct 13, 2026
    Owner login required
Other public documents 1
  • Document Library (governing documents, policies, design review documents)Version not confirmed

    The association site says its document library holds governing documents, policies and design review documents; it redirected to a resident login on 2026-10-20.

    Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. · Applies to: all · Checked Oct 13, 2026
    Owner login required

EMBER (developer website) 1 document

Other public documents 1
  • The Grand Prairie site map (May 27, 2026)

    Developer site plan image with legend; the developer states renderings and planned features are not guaranteed and development will take many years.

    EMBER (developer website) · Applies to: all · Effective / version: 2026-05-27 · Checked Oct 13, 2026
    View official document

We did not log in to resident portals. Documents that owners can see only after logging in are marked. This list is not guaranteed to be complete. Search every community’s documents.

Taxes and districts

County
Harris
City status
Not confirmed Source
DistrictTypeApplies toTax rate
Harris County Emergency Services District No. 200ESDlisted by the association as the non-emergency fire contact (540 Ellen Powell, Prairie View, 936-372-8084); whether it levies a tax on every Grand Prairie lot was not confirmedRate not confirmed Source
  • Water and sewer are billed through a water district whose operator the association and builders list as Municipal District Services (281-290-6500). The district's name and tax rate were not found on any official page checked; the MLS listing checked discloses 'Mud' and 'Water District'. Source
  • David Weekley Homes' Grand Prairie pages show a combined 'Tax Total' of 3.29% (checked 2026-10-20). This is the builder's figure, not a district-by-district rate; an MLS listing checked the same day shows 3.31. Source
  • 2025 adopted rates per $100 from the Harris County Tax Office: Harris County 0.38096; Harris County Flood Control District 0.04966; Port of Houston Authority 0.0059; Harris County Hospital District 0.18761; Harris County Department of Education 0.0048. The Waller ISD, MUD/WCID and ESD lines were not found on the page as read. Source

Your total property tax depends on the specific parcel: which taxing units it sits in, its appraised value and the exemptions you qualify for. Check the exact address in the appraisal district’s records before you rely on any total.

Utilities and owner resources

Schedules and providers change. Use the provider’s own lookup for current pickup days and service areas. Emergencies: call 911.

Amenities and who can use them

  • The Sundancer Amenity ComplexResidents only Source
  • The Starlight Amenity ComplexResidents only Source
  • Lake EmberResidents only Source
  • Additional lakes (Jackrabbit, Antler, Mockingbird, Armadillo, Mustang, Buffalo, Red Fox, Heron, Whitetail)Access not confirmed Source
  • Overlook Hill (The Overlook)Access not confirmed Source
  • Trails, parks and green spaceAccess not confirmed Source
  • Dog parkAccess not confirmed Source
  • Lifestyle director and resident eventsResidents only Source
  • Future on-site Waller ISD elementary schoolOpen to the public Source
  • The Shops at Grand PrairieOpen to the publicSouthwest corner of Kickapoo Rd and Betka Rd, Hockley Source

Resident-only amenities usually need a key, badge or sticker from the association. Rules and hours change; check the association’s current rules.

What we could not verify

  • Waller ISD and HC ESD 200 2025 tax rates: not found on the Harris County Tax Office rate page as read.
  • Governing documents (declaration, design guidelines, leasing restrictions PDF, community standards): association document library and assessments page require a resident login.
  • Transfer fee, resale certificate fee and capital contribution: not published publicly.
  • HAR '2025 Facts' neighborhood table for The Grand Prairie: no HAR pricetrends neighborhood page found; only the HAR master-planned page and the Hockley market area were used.
  • Total planned homes and number of sections/villages beyond The Highlands: not published.
  • City-limits / ETJ status: not confirmed from an official map.
  • Commute routes to the Energy Corridor, Galleria, Texas Medical Center and IAH: the developer gives none.

If you own here and can share a public link to any of these, call or text 832-797-3780 and we’ll add it with its source.

Schools

Waller ISD Source

Attendance zones are set by address and can change each year. Confirm with the district before you rely on a campus.

Flood, drainage and property research

A mapped flood zone does not tell you a home’s full flood risk, and a neighbor’s history doesn’t tell you this home’s. Check the specific address, ask the seller for the Texas flood disclosure and any claims history, and get an insurance quote early.

Buying here

What to review before an offer in The Grand Prairie

  • Read the declaration and any supplemental declaration for the home’s section, plus the architectural guidelines, before your option period ends.
  • Order the resale certificate early and confirm every association that bills the home, with current dues and transfer fees.
  • Look up the parcel’s MUD or other district tax rates; they can be a large share of the total bill and vary by section.
  • Check the address on FEMA and county flood tools, request the seller’s flood disclosure, and price flood insurance before you commit.
  • If you plan to lease the home, read the leasing and short-term rental rules in the document center above.
  • Confirm school assignment for the exact address with the district.

Selling here

Selling in The Grand Prairie

Buyers here compare section, builder, lot, HOA and district costs side by side. I price from recent sales in the same section and present the documents buyers will ask for up front. A pricing review is a conversation based on recent sales, not an appraisal.

Market snapshot: we publish sold-price statistics only from authorized MLS data with the period and sample size. Ask for a community market analysis.

Neighborhood FAQ

The Grand Prairie: questions buyers and sellers ask

27 direct answers about The Grand Prairie, researched by Michael O’Neal’s team from official and public sources. Each answer lists its sources and the date we checked them; facts that change (fees, tax rates, school zones) should be confirmed for the specific address.

What are the HOA dues in The Grand Prairie?

The developer's residents page lists annual homeowners association dues of $1,200, managed by CCMC; builder pages and an MLS listing checked Oct 20, 2026 show the same $1,200 a year. The page does not state the budget year, and transfer, resale certificate and capital contribution fees are not published on the public pages (the association's assessment page needs a resident login). Ask the title company for the resale certificate figures before closing. Owners who lease also pay a $300 annual rental registration fee.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Who manages the Grand Prairie HOA?

CCMC manages Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. The community manager listed on the developer site is Otis Chandler (346-405-1180), with an on-site office at 16155 Sonneblume Park Drive open weekdays 9 to 5. CCMC customer service is 866-244-2262, and after-hours HOA emergencies go to 1-800-274-3165. The association's own site is mygrandprairietx.com; its document library and assessment pages require a resident login. CCMC also employs the on-site lifestyle director who plans resident events.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What is the tax rate in The Grand Prairie?

David Weekley Homes' Grand Prairie pages show a combined tax total of 3.29% (checked Oct 20, 2026), and an MLS listing the same day showed 3.31. Neither breaks the total into districts. Harris County's 2025 rates are published by the Harris County Tax Office; the Waller ISD, water district and ESD rates were not confirmed from official pages. Look up the exact parcel on HCAD and the Harris County Tax Office before you buy. Ask the seller for the latest tax bill too, because new-construction bills can change once a home is fully assessed.

Sources: davidweekleyhomes.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What school district is The Grand Prairie in?

Waller ISD. The developer lists Holleman Elementary on Stokes Road in Waller, Waller Junior High and Waller High School, and says an on-site Waller ISD elementary is coming, with no opening date published. Assignments can change, so confirm the schools for a specific address directly with Waller ISD (2214 Waller Street, 936-931-3685) before you decide. The developer's Prairie Promise program also gives eligible Waller ISD educators and staff 1% savings on a new home.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Is there a school inside The Grand Prairie?

Not yet. The developer's education page lists a future on-site elementary as 'coming soon' and the FAQ says the master plan sets aside land for a Waller ISD elementary. No opening date or attendance zone has been published on the pages checked. Until it opens, the developer lists Holleman Elementary, Waller Junior High and Waller High School; confirm the current assignment with Waller ISD. The district office is at 2214 Waller Street in Waller (936-931-3685).

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Who are the builders in The Grand Prairie?

The developer's builder page lists David Weekley Homes, Lennar, Perry Homes, Shea Homes, Village Builders and Westin Homes (the home page filter also shows Sitterle Homes). Lot widths run from 40' to 70'. Lennar has the widest collection list and the lowest starting prices; Shea and Westin build on 60'-70' homesites. These are production builders; the developer says custom homes are not offered. Lennar is the exclusive builder in The Highlands section, per Realty News Report. Each builder runs its own sales center along Verbena Glen Drive or its own section, so check each one's current plans, lot widths and move-in homes.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What lot sizes are available in The Grand Prairie?

Homesites are 40', 45', 50', 60', 65' and 70' wide depending on the builder. Per the developer's promotions page: David Weekley 40', 50', 60'; Westin 45', 60'; Perry 40', 50'; Village Builders 45'; Lennar 40', 45', 50'; Shea 60', 65', 70'. The developer FAQ calls the community a production-home neighborhood without custom homesites. Lot width drives price: Lennar's 40' to 50' homes start lowest, while Shea's 60' series starts at $549,990 on the developer's page.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Are there builder incentives in The Grand Prairie right now?

On Oct 20, 2026, David Weekley's Grand Prairie pages promoted a Houston-wide 'New Employee Pricing Event' (select homes, up to $40,000 in savings per the image text) and a move-in package on move-in ready homes, with terms on separate pages. Lennar mentions promotions when financing with Lennar Mortgage. Perry, Shea, Westin and Village Builders pages said no incentives at the time. Always get the written terms from the builder.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What amenities does The Grand Prairie have?

Two amenity complexes: The Sundancer (6,700 sq ft center on 6.3 acres with two resort-style pools, splash park, zip line, event lawn and Lake Ember access) and The Starlight (3.6 acres with a lap-lane pool, pickleball and playground, open now). There is also the 70-acre Lake Ember, nine other lakes, a 40-foot overlook hill, about 450 acres of green space and about 20 miles of planned trails. A dog park is planned.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Can you fish or kayak on Lake Ember?

Yes, per the developer. Lake Ember is 70 acres, paddle-friendly for kayaks and paddleboards, and open to catch-and-release fishing, reached from The Sundancer. The developer also names nine smaller lakes for shoreline fishing. Ask the association for current lake rules before launching a boat. The Sundancer complex next to the lake also has two resort-style pools, a splash park, a zip line and an event lawn. The developer says the lake was engineered with Harris County Flood Control District for drainage, so its water level can change after storms.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Does The Grand Prairie flood?

No one can promise how any property will perform. The developer says Lake Ember was engineered with Harris County Flood Control District to manage drainage in the Cypress Creek watershed; that is the developer's claim. For a specific lot, check Harris County Flood Control District's Flood Education Mapping Tool, the FEMA flood map, the seller's disclosure and the elevation certificate, and get an insurance quote early.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Where is The Grand Prairie located?

In Hockley, northwest Harris County, about one mile south of US 290 and about six miles west of the Grand Parkway, roughly 35 miles from Downtown Houston. From US 290, exit Hegar Road, continue on Warren Ranch Road for 1.5 miles and turn on Sunrise Prairie. The welcome center is 16507 Verbena Glen Dr, Hockley 77447. The developer says Hockley is about 36 miles northwest of Downtown Houston. Zube Park and Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospital are nearby, per the developer's location page.

Sources: realtynewsreport.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

How do you get to Downtown Houston from The Grand Prairie?

The developer's directions run the other way: from Houston take I-10 west to I-610 north, follow US 290 west for 28 miles, exit Hegar Road, continue onto Warren Ranch Road for 1.5 miles and turn onto Sunrise Prairie. Reverse that route to head downtown. Drive it at the hours you would commute before deciding. From Katy, the developer routes drivers up the Grand Parkway (SH 99) to US 290. The developer gives no drive times, and none are estimated here.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Who developed The Grand Prairie?

EMBER Real Estate Investment & Development, a Houston land development firm founded by Harry Masterson, Jordan Mack and Vicente Rangel. The community opened April 13, 2024 with a festival the developer called 'The Grandest Opening'. Realty News Report quoted EMBER's director of development saying the plan aims to offer a variety of price points. The developer's own page names no other EMBER communities. Lennar, David Weekley, Perry, Shea, Village Builders and Westin build there today.

Sources: realtynewsreport.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

How big is The Grand Prairie?

1,730 acres according to Realty News Report and the developer, which also uses 'about 1,700' in one FAQ answer. Around 450 acres are parks and green space. A total planned home count has not been published on the pages checked. The 70-acre Lake Ember and nine smaller lakes sit inside that green space, along with about 20 miles of planned trails.

Sources: realtynewsreport.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Is The Grand Prairie one of the top-selling communities?

RCLCO ranked it No. 17 nationally for 2025 with 639 new-home sales, and John Burns ranked it No. 4 in Texas with the same total. In RCLCO's mid-2026 list it was No. 35 with 259 sales in the first half, down from 299 a year earlier. Rankings measure new-home sales volume only. The developer's own FAQ cites a No. 15 ranking on a 2026 list, which does not match RCLCO's published table.

Sources: rclco.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Can I rent out my home in The Grand Prairie?

Leasing is regulated. Owners must register each tenant through CCMC's BUURT portal, file a copy of the lease so management can check it against the CC&Rs, and pay a $300 annual rental registration fee once approved. Tenants get amenity access only after owner and tenant forms are complete. The minimum lease term and any short-term rental rule are in a separate leasing restrictions document; read it before buying to rent.

Sources: mygrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What utilities serve The Grand Prairie?

Per the association: water and sewer through a water district operated by Municipal District Services (281-290-6500); trash by Best Trash (281-313-2378); gas by Unigas; and electricity from a retail provider you choose at powertochoose.org. The developer names Centric Fiber as its internet partner (877-342-7270). Because water comes from a district, the district's tax rate is part of your property tax bill; ask for it before you buy.

Sources: mygrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What hospitals are near The Grand Prairie?

The developer names Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospital, which has an emergency room, ICU and NICU, a Life Flight helipad, TIRR outpatient rehabilitation and imaging, and describes it as minutes away. It does not give a distance. Waller ISD and Harris County ESD 200 are listed by the association as the nearby public contacts for schools and fire service. Drive to the hospital at the hours you would need it to judge the trip yourself.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

Is The Grand Prairie gated?

No gated sections are described on the developer, association or builder pages checked. The community is laid out around lakes, trails and two amenity complexes. Ask the association if gated sections are planned in later phases. Most homes are production homes on 40' to 70' lots from six builders. Pool, lake and amenity access is controlled through the association, and tenants get access only after their registration is approved.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What is the Prairie Promise?

A developer program that gives eligible Waller ISD educators and staff 1% savings on a new home in The Grand Prairie. Eligibility details are on the developer's Prairie Promise page; confirm with the builder before you sign. It is a developer program, not a builder incentive, so it may be combined with or limited by a builder's own offers; ask both. It does not change school assignments, which come from Waller ISD.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What police and fire services cover The Grand Prairie?

The association lists Waller City Police for non-emergency police calls (936-931-2110) and Harris County ESD 200 in Prairie View for non-emergency fire calls (936-372-8084). Call 911 for emergencies. The association also lists the Southeast Texas Poison Center (800-222-1222) and Harris County Pets for loose dogs (281-999-3191). The nearest post office is at 17210 Warren Ranch Road in Hockley. Ask the association which agency patrols your street.

Sources: mygrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 20, 2026

What kinds of homes are in The Grand Prairie, and how old are they?

1,730 acres (the developer FAQ also says about 1,700). Production homes from builders on 40', 45', 50', 60', 65' and 70' homesites; the developer says it does not offer custom homes. Lennar is the exclusive builder in The Highlands section (40', 45' and 50' lots) and had started more than 200 homes there by November 2024. Opened April 13, 2024 with a festival called 'The Grandest Opening'; nearly 500 homes were expected by spring 2025.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com · realtynewsreport.com · houstonagentmagazine.com Checked Oct 13, 2026

What do homes in The Grand Prairie typically cost?

Developer price range: mid $200s to $700s+. That is the association or developer’s own description, not a current price. Prices depend on section, builder, lot and updates; current listings are in the search on this page, and recent sales in the same section are the best guide.

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 13, 2026

Where can I find The Grand Prairie’s HOA documents and deed restrictions?

The The Grand Prairie document center on this page links 4 public documents from the association and public agencies, including declarations, architectural guidelines and policies (open the document center). Association website: Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. 2 of the documents we found need an owner login; a buyer gets them through the seller or the resale certificate. Recorded restrictions are also on file with the Harris County Clerk, and the state’s management certificate search shows the association’s registered manager and recorded documents. In a purchase, ask for the resale certificate and current governing documents early in the option period.

Search every community’s HOA documents

Sources: Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc. · Texas HOA management certificate search Checked Oct 13, 2026

What parks, pools, trails and golf are in or near The Grand Prairie?

Resident amenities include The Sundancer Amenity Complex, The Starlight Amenity Complex, Lake Ember, and Lifestyle director and resident events. Open to the public or by membership: Future on-site Waller ISD elementary school and The Shops at Grand Prairie. Also in or near the community: Additional lakes, Overlook Hill, Trails, parks and green space, and Dog park. Resident-only facilities usually need a key, badge or sticker from the association, and rules and hours change.

Amenities and who can use them

Sources: thegrandprairietx.com Checked Oct 13, 2026

What should sellers in The Grand Prairie know before listing?

Pricing in The Grand Prairie should come from recent sales in the same section, adjusted for lot, size and updates. Expect the buyer to ask for a resale certificate from Grand Prairie Master Community, Inc.; ordering it early avoids delays. Because the home is in a utility or special district, Texas law requires a written district notice to the buyer, and a buyer comparing payments will look at the total tax rate. Have the seller’s disclosure, any repair receipts and, if you have one, an elevation certificate ready before you list.

Request a pricing review · Compare a cash offer with listing

Sources: Texas Water Code §49.452 (district notice) Checked Oct 13, 2026

Personal help

Questions about The Grand Prairie?

Everything on this page is free to read. When you want help with a specific home, a shortlist or your own home’s value, tell us what you need.

832-797-3780

Researched and published by The Michael O’Neal Group, Keller Williams Realty Northeast. Last checked Oct 20, 2026. Every fact links to its source; tell us if something has changed.

The O’Neal Insider · Free weekly

Get the Houston Neighborhood Insider.

Local events, neighborhood updates, and real estate insights for the areas you care about. Read the latest edition.

Which areas and topics? Pick any.Areas
Also want text alerts? (optional)