Buy / First-time homebuyers

First-time homebuyer help in Houston & Kingwood

Low-down-payment loans, down payment assistance and possible grants for first-time buyers in Houston, Kingwood, Humble, Atascocita and Northeast Houston, explained plainly, with official sources for every program.

Eligibility, property requirements, funding availability, and lender approval apply. Zero down does not necessarily mean zero cash needed at closing.

Buying your first home is a big step, and the financing choices can feel like alphabet soup: FHA, VA, USDA, HomeReady, DPA, MCC. Our team helps first-time buyers across Houston, Kingwood, Humble, Atascocita, Porter, New Caney and Northeast Houston sort out what each option means, what it costs, and which questions to bring to a lender. This guide is free to read, with no sign-up.

Quick answers

First-time buyer questions, answered

Can I buy my first home with zero down?

Possibly. VA loans (for eligible veterans and service members) and USDA loans (for eligible addresses and incomes) allow no down payment, and down payment assistance can cover the down payment on some FHA and conventional loans. You will usually still need cash for earnest money, the option fee, inspections and some closing costs or prepaid items unless assistance or credits cover them. Eligibility, property requirements, funding availability, and lender approval apply. Zero down does not necessarily mean zero cash needed at closing.

What grants or assistance might be available?

In our area, the active options we verified are TSAHC’s Home Sweet Texas and Homes for Texas Heroes, TDHCA’s My First Texas Home and My Choice Texas Home, Mortgage Credit Certificates and SETH 5 Star, each offering up to 5% of the loan amount through a participating lender. City of Houston and Harris County assistance is closed or limited right now, and Montgomery County’s depends on available funds. Some help is a grant; much of it is a second lien.

Do I have to repay down payment assistance?

It depends on the structure. A grant is not repaid. A forgivable second lien is forgiven over time (3 years for the state programs we list, 5 to 8 years for the City of Houston’s) but is due if you sell, refinance or move out early. A deferred repayable second lien has no monthly payment but must be paid back when you sell, refinance or pay off the first loan. Read the lien terms before you choose.

Does FHA mean zero down?

No. FHA requires at least 3.5% down with a credit score of 580 or higher, and 10% with a score of 500 to 579. Some buyers use down payment assistance or gift funds to cover that 3.5%, but the loan itself is not a zero-down program.

Can assistance cover closing costs?

Often, yes. The state and regional programs we list may be used for down payment and closing costs, and local programs can also cover some prepaid items. Programs do not give cash back at closing, and some costs, such as the option fee and inspections, are usually paid before closing.

Can I qualify if I previously owned a home?

Yes, for many options. Most programs define a first-time buyer as someone who has not owned a principal residence in the past three years, so a past owner may qualify again. My Choice Texas Home, SETH 5 Star, the standard TSAHC assistance and FHA, VA and USDA loans have no first-time requirement; veterans and buyers in targeted areas are exempt from the rule in several state programs.

Can I combine builder incentives with assistance?

Sometimes, but never assume it. Builder incentives often require the builder’s preferred lender, which may not offer the assistance program you want, and every loan program limits how much the seller or builder can contribute. A participating lender has to confirm in writing which assistance, credits and loan type can be used together on a specific home.

What should I do if I am not ready to qualify?

Start a plan now. Check your credit reports for errors, pay down balances, keep saving, and take a HUD-approved homebuyer education course, which several programs require anyway. A HUD-approved housing counselor can help for free or at low cost, and a lender can tell you exactly what to work on.

Your roadmap

Eight steps from first conversation to keys

  1. Review your budget and goals

    Decide what monthly payment feels comfortable and how much cash you have for the move. Our affordability calculator is a starting point.

  2. Speak with a licensed lender

    A loan officer reviews your income, debts and credit, and tells you which loans and programs you may qualify for.

  3. Compare financing and assistance

    Compare Loan Estimates side by side, including the rate, mortgage insurance, assistance terms and cash to close.

  4. Get preapproved

    A preapproval letter shows sellers you can buy and sets your price range. Take any required homebuyer education course.

  5. Find a suitable home

    We search with you, including new construction, and check taxes, HOA dues, MUD or PID assessments, flood history and, for USDA or local programs, whether the address is eligible.

  6. Negotiate and inspect

    We write and negotiate your offer, schedule inspections during the option period and help you decide on repairs or credits.

  7. Complete underwriting

    The lender verifies everything and orders the appraisal. Keep your job, credit and accounts steady until closing.

  8. Close and move in

    Review your Closing Disclosure at least three business days before closing, sign, get your keys, and keep any assistance documents for your records.

Compare your choices

Low-down-payment loans and assistance at a glance

These are general program rules from official sources. Your lender decides what fits your situation, and not every lender offers every program.

Comparison of first-time buyer financing options
OptionPotential down paymentWho it may suitAssistance structureMain limitationsNext step
FHA loan3.5% with a 580+ credit score; 10% with 500–579Buyers with smaller savings or a credit score below conventional guidelinesFirst mortgage insured by FHA: 1.75% upfront plus annual mortgage insuranceAnnual mortgage insurance usually lasts the life of the loan when you put down less than 10%; FHA loan limits and property standards applyAsk a lender for an FHA Loan Estimate
VA loan$0 for eligible borrowers with full entitlementEligible veterans, service members and some surviving spousesVA-guaranteed first mortgage; no monthly mortgage insurance; a funding fee (2.15% on first use with under 5% down) unless exemptRequires a Certificate of Eligibility and lender approval; closing costs still applyRequest your Certificate of Eligibility
USDA loan$0Households up to 115% of area median income buying in an eligible areaUSDA-guaranteed first mortgage: 1% upfront fee and 0.35% annual fee (fiscal year 2027)The property address must be eligible and household income is capped; 30-year fixed onlyCheck the exact address on USDA’s map
Conventional 3% down (incl. HomeReady and Home Possible)3%Buyers with steady credit; HomeReady and Home Possible are for incomes up to 80% of area medianConventional first mortgage with private mortgage insurance, which can usually be removed laterA standard 97% loan needs at least one first-time buyer; education is required when all borrowers are first-time buyersAsk a lender whether you fit HomeReady or Home Possible
State and regional assistance (TSAHC, TDHCA, SETH)Can cover some or all of the down payment and closing costs (2%–5% of the loan)Income-qualified buyers using a participating lenderGrant, forgivable second lien or repayable second lien, depending on the programApproved lender required; income limits; repayment if you sell or refinance early; the rate may differ from the same loan without assistanceCompare programs with a participating lender
Builder incentives and seller creditsDo not replace the down paymentBuyers of new homes or homes where the seller agrees to helpCredits toward closing costs, rate buydowns or flex cashOften require the builder’s preferred lender; each loan program caps seller contributions; may not combine with assistanceSee verified builder incentives

Sources: HUD Mortgagee Letter 2026-11 · HUD Mortgagee Letter 2023-05 (FHA mortgage insurance) · VA funding fee · USDA guaranteed loan · USDA fiscal year 2027 fees · Fannie Mae HomeReady · Fannie Mae eligibility matrix · Freddie Mac Home Possible · CFPB on PMI. Reviewed October 15, 2026.

Down payment assistance

Assistance programs for Houston-area buyers

Assistance is not free money. Some is a grant; much of it is a second lien that is forgiven over time or repaid when you sell or refinance. Each program sets its own income limits, lender list and rules, and a participating lender must confirm which assistance, loan type and seller or builder credits can be combined.

City limits, county lines and mailing addresses

Local programs follow the jurisdiction that taxes the home, not the city in your mailing address. Many Kingwood addresses are inside the City of Houston; Atascocita is unincorporated Harris County; the City of Humble is its own city; Porter and New Caney are in Montgomery County, though some nearby addresses are in Harris County. USDA eligibility is decided address by address on USDA’s eligibility map, so we never label a whole community eligible.

Statewide and regional programs

Active

Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Program

Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC)

Up to 5% of the loan amount toward down payment and closing costs, as a grant, a 3-year forgivable second lien, or a 30-year deferred repayable second lien.

Status: Active. The 30-year repayable option has limited funding.

Full program details
Who it may help
Low- and moderate-income buyers in Texas, including first-time and repeat buyers.
Where
Statewide, including Harris and Montgomery counties.
Income limits (Harris and Montgomery counties)
Up to $156,000 for FHA, VA or USDA loans with standard assistance and for conventional loans above 80% of area income; $84,080 for conventional loans at or below 80%; $83,200 for the 30-year repayable option. From TSAHC’s county limits tool, which shows no effective date.
Purchase price limits
None when the standard (non-bond) assistance is used by itself. With the 30-year repayable option or a Mortgage Credit Certificate: $566,354.70, or $692,211.30 in a targeted area.
Credit and lender
Minimum credit score 620 for FHA, VA and USDA loans and 640 for conventional loans. Scores of 620–639 carry a 0.25% charge on government loans. You must use a TSAHC-approved lender; the published debt-to-income cap for manually underwritten loans is 45%.
First-time buyer rule
Not required for the standard assistance. Required for the 30-year repayable option and the Mortgage Credit Certificate: no ownership interest in a principal residence in the past three years, waived in targeted areas and for qualified veterans.
Homebuyer education
At least one borrower completes an approved homebuyer course before closing.
Assistance amount
2% to 5% of the total loan amount. It may pay down payment and closing costs only.
Structure
Grant (FHA, VA and USDA loans only; not repaid after six months), 3-year deferred forgivable second lien at 0%, or 30-year deferred repayable second lien at 0% (FHA, VA and USDA only, for buyers at or below 80% of area income, when available).
Repayment and restrictions
The forgivable lien is repaid in full if you sell, refinance, pay off the first loan or stop living in the home within three years. The 30-year lien is due when you sell, refinance or pay off the first loan, or at 30 years. You must move in within 60 days; 30-year fixed-rate loans only. Federal recapture tax may apply to the 30-year option and the Mortgage Credit Certificate if you sell within nine years.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): TSAHC program page · TSAHC DPA and MCC Guidelines, revised Aug 28, 2026 · TSAHC county income and price limits

Active

Homes for Texas Heroes Home Loan Program

Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC)

The same assistance options as Home Sweet Texas, with higher income limits, for eligible teachers, first responders, corrections officers, veterans and other listed professions.

Status: Active. The 30-year repayable option has limited funding.

Full program details
Who it may help
Full-time Texas public school classroom teachers and certain school staff, nursing and allied health faculty, peace officers, firefighters, EMS personnel, corrections and juvenile corrections officers, county jailers and veterans. See TSAHC’s list for exact definitions.
Where
Statewide, including Harris and Montgomery counties.
Income limits (Harris and Montgomery counties)
Up to $176,800 for FHA, VA or USDA loans with standard assistance and for conventional loans above 80% of area income; $84,080 for conventional at or below 80%; $83,200 for the 30-year repayable option (TSAHC county limits tool).
Purchase price limits
Same as Home Sweet Texas: none for standard assistance by itself; $566,354.70 (or $692,211.30 in a targeted area) with the 30-year option or a Mortgage Credit Certificate.
Credit and lender
Minimum 620 for FHA, VA and USDA, 640 for conventional, through a TSAHC-approved lender. Your employer or license may need to verify your profession.
First-time buyer rule
Same as Home Sweet Texas: required only for the 30-year option and the Mortgage Credit Certificate.
Homebuyer education
At least one borrower completes an approved course before closing.
Assistance amount
2% to 5% of the total loan amount.
Structure
Grant, 3-year forgivable second lien or 30-year repayable second lien, as with Home Sweet Texas. TSAHC waives its Mortgage Credit Certificate fee for Heroes borrowers.
Repayment and restrictions
Same triggers as Home Sweet Texas: sale, refinance, payoff or moving out before forgiveness; principal residence; 30-year fixed-rate loans.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): TSAHC Homes for Texas Heroes page · TSAHC Guidelines, revised Aug 28, 2026 · TSAHC county limits

Active

My First Texas Home

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA)

A 30-year fixed-rate FHA, VA or USDA loan for first-time buyers, with optional assistance of 2% to 5% of the loan amount.

Status: Active per TDHCA’s rate notice dated Oct 14, 2026. Assistance is “funding permitting.”

Full program details
Who it may help
First-time buyers, plus qualified veterans and buyers in targeted census tracts, who are exempt from the first-time rule.
Where
Statewide. Harris and Montgomery counties are in TDHCA’s Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land area.
Income limits
$104,000 for households of 1–2 and $119,600 for 3 or more; in targeted areas $124,800 and $145,600 (effective July 13, 2026).
Purchase price limits
$566,354, or $692,211 in a targeted area (one-unit homes, effective July 13, 2026).
Credit and lender
Minimum middle credit score 620, through a TDHCA-approved lender. Debt-to-income follows the automated underwriting findings; manually underwritten loans are capped at 45%.
First-time buyer rule
You have not owned and occupied a primary residence in the last three years. Exceptions for qualified veterans (DD-214) and homes in qualified targeted census tracts.
Homebuyer education
A HUD-certified homebuyer course for every borrower.
Assistance amount
2% to 5% of the total loan amount, funding permitting.
Structure
TDHCA’s program matrix lists a 30-year deferred repayable second lien and a 3-year deferred forgivable second lien, both at 0%. The Oct 14, 2026 rate notice labels this program as 30-year deferred repayable, so ask the lender which option is offered today.
Repayment and restrictions
The 30-year lien is due when you sell, refinance, transfer or pay off the first loan. Move in within 60 days; no cash back at closing. Federal recapture tax may apply.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): TDHCA My First Texas Home · Program matrix, Aug 17, 2026 · Income and price limits, effective July 13, 2026 · Rate notice, Oct 14, 2026

Active

My Choice Texas Home

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA)

A 30-year fixed-rate loan with assistance of 2% to 5% of the loan amount, open to first-time and repeat buyers, with no purchase price limit.

Status: Active per TDHCA’s rate notice dated Oct 14, 2026. Assistance is subject to available funding.

Full program details
Who it may help
First-time and repeat buyers, and qualified veterans.
Where
Statewide.
Income limits
Income limits apply and vary by loan type (TDHCA table effective July 13, 2026). We could not confirm from the published table which figure applies to each loan type in the Houston area, so confirm your limit with a participating lender.
Purchase price limits
None, per TDHCA’s program matrix.
Credit and lender
Minimum middle credit score 620; FHA, VA, USDA or conventional (Fannie Mae HFA Preferred, Freddie Mac HFA Advantage) through a TDHCA-approved lender.
First-time buyer rule
None.
Homebuyer education
A HUD-certified homebuyer course for each borrower before purchase.
Assistance amount
2% to 5% of the total loan amount, subject to available funding.
Structure
The Oct 14, 2026 rate notice labels it a 3-year deferred forgivable second lien at 0%; the program matrix also lists a 30-year deferred repayable option. Confirm with the lender.
Repayment and restrictions
The forgivable lien becomes due if you sell, refinance or pay off the first loan, or stop living in the home, before 36 months. Move in within 60 days. Not subject to federal recapture tax.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): TDHCA My Choice Texas Home · Program matrix, Aug 17, 2026 · Rate notice, Oct 14, 2026

Limited availability

Mortgage Credit Certificates (TSAHC and TDHCA)

TSAHC and TDHCA

A federal tax credit of 15% of the mortgage interest you pay each year. It is a tax credit, not a loan or a grant.

Status: Offered as funds allow. TSAHC’s stand-alone certificate is discontinued; TDHCA says supplies are limited.

Full program details
Who it may help
First-time buyers, qualified veterans and buyers in targeted areas who use the program.
Where
Statewide.
Income limits
$104,000 for households of 1–2 and $119,600 for 3 or more in the Houston area; $124,800 and $145,600 in targeted areas.
Purchase price limits
About $566,354 ($692,211 in a targeted area).
Credit and lender
Apply through an approved lender before you close. TSAHC certificates are available only with its loan (not with its 30-year repayable assistance). TDHCA offers one with My First Texas Home or as a stand-alone option with an outside loan.
First-time buyer rule
No ownership interest in a principal residence in the past three years; waived for qualified veterans and in targeted areas.
Homebuyer education
Required under each agency’s program rules.
Assistance amount
A credit equal to 15% of the year’s mortgage interest. Fees: TSAHC $400 (waived for Texas Heroes); TDHCA $400 with its loan or $1,000 stand-alone, waived for military.
Structure
Federal income tax credit certificate.
Repayment and restrictions
A federal recapture tax may apply if you sell within nine years. Ask a tax adviser how the credit affects your return.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): TSAHC MCC page · TDHCA Texas MCC page · TDHCA rate notice, Oct 14, 2026

Active

SETH 5 Star Texas Homebuyer Assistance Program

Southeast Texas Housing Finance Corporation (SETH)

Up to 5% of the loan amount for down payment and closing costs, as a 3-year forgivable or 30-year deferred repayable second lien. No first-time buyer requirement.

Status: Ongoing; no closure notice on the program site. Rates and assistance levels change daily.

Full program details
Who it may help
Buyers using a 30-year fixed FHA, VA, USDA or conventional loan through an approved lender, first-time or not.
Where
Texas, outside Travis County and the city limits of El Paso, McKinney and Grand Prairie. That includes Houston, Kingwood, Humble, Atascocita, Porter and New Caney.
Income limits (Harris and Montgomery counties)
$84,080 (Charter) or $183,925 (Standard), effective June 15, 2026.
Purchase price limits
None set by the program; the loan program’s own limits apply.
Credit and lender
Minimum middle credit score 640 for all borrowers; lender approved by U.S. Bank and signed with SETH.
First-time buyer rule
None.
Homebuyer education
SETH’s online course for one borrower; $100, free for borrowers under the Charter income limit.
Assistance amount
Up to 5% of the final loan amount, depending on the daily rate sheet.
Structure
Second lien with no payments: forgiven in full at the third anniversary, or a 30-year deferred loan that is repaid.
Repayment and restrictions
Any unforgiven balance is due when you sell or refinance; the 30-year option is due on sale, refinance or maturity. Primary residence, occupied within 60 days; no cash back.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): SETH 5 Star program site · SETH income limits, effective June 15, 2026 · Program highlights, effective March 10, 2026

City and county programs

Closed to new applications

City of Houston Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP)

City of Houston Housing and Community Development

Up to $75,000 as a 0% forgivable second lien for income-qualified first-time buyers purchasing inside Houston city limits.

Status: Not accepting new applications. The program page says available funds are exhausted. A city hub page still describes it as accepting applications, so call 832-394-6200 to confirm.

Full program details
Who it may help
First-time buyers (no home owned in the last three years) at or below 80% of area income.
Where
Homes that pay City of Houston taxes. A Houston, Kingwood or Humble mailing address does not decide it: many Kingwood addresses are inside city limits, while Atascocita, the City of Humble, Porter and New Caney are not.
Income limits
80% of area income, effective June 1, 2026: $58,250 for one person, $66,600 for two, $74,900 for three, $83,200 for four, up to $109,850 for eight.
Purchase price limits
No fixed cap; the price cannot exceed the appraised value.
Credit and lender
Credit score is not considered; housing costs up to 33% and total debts up to 45% of income; fixed-rate loan from a participating lender; liquid assets under $50,000.
Homebuyer education
An 8-hour course from a HUD-approved agency before applying.
Assistance amount
Up to $75,000, based on need.
Structure
0% forgivable second lien. Up to $50,000 is forgiven over 5 years; above $50,000, over 8 years.
Repayment and restrictions
Repayment if you sell, rent out, stop living in the home, take cash out or default during the affordability period. City inspection before closing; flood insurance rules in the 100-year floodplain.

The city also lists HbAP 2.0 (for people who lived in the city on Aug 25, 2017; current status not confirmed) and the New Home Development Program (City-built homes in specific neighborhoods such as Settegast and Denver Harbor). Availability requires confirmation with the city.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): City of Houston HAP page · HAP Guidelines 8.0, approved June 23, 2026 · 2026 income chart, effective June 1, 2026 · City homebuyer hub

Limited availability

Harris County Down Payment Assistance Program

Harris County Housing and Community Development

Up to $40,000 in gap assistance for income-qualified first-time buyers in unincorporated Harris County.

Status: Currently accepting only applicants affected by Hurricane Beryl or the derecho. Others “can no longer be accepted, as the program has already reached maximum capacity.”

Full program details
Who it may help
First-time buyers (no home owned in the three years before applying) who meet the income limits.
Where
Unincorporated Harris County, inside a qualified census tract and outside flood hazard areas. Kingwood (City of Houston) is outside it. Atascocita is unincorporated, so it depends on the census tract. We could not confirm whether the City of Humble is covered.
Income limits
Income qualified; the county’s 2026 80% table lists $58,250 for one person up to $109,850 for eight.
Purchase price limits
$285,000 for an existing home; $296,000 for a new home.
Credit and lender
Minimum credit score 580; housing costs up to 39% and total debts up to 42% of income; participating lender; you contribute at least $1,000; liquid assets of $30,000 or less.
Homebuyer education
A course from a HUD-approved provider.
Assistance amount
Up to $40,000, only the amount needed.
Structure
A “silent” second mortgage with a 5-year (under $25,000) or 10-year affordability period. Repayment terms were not stated on the page; confirm with the county.
Repayment and restrictions
The home must meet county property standards.

Harris County also lists a separate Beryl/Derecho Homebuyer Assistance Program (assistance of up to 45% of the price, 620 credit score, 10-year occupancy). Its geography and open status were not stated, so availability requires confirmation.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): Harris County DAP page · Harris County Beryl/Derecho Homebuyer Assistance page

Availability requires confirmation

Montgomery County Down Payment Assistance

Easter Seals Greater Houston (program administrator)

Up to $12,600 toward down payment, closing costs and prepaid items for income-qualified first-time buyers in Montgomery County, including Porter and New Caney.

Status: Funding is “contingent upon availability of funds” for June 2026 to June 2027. Availability requires confirmation.

Full program details
Who it may help
Buyers below 80% of area income who have not owned a home in the last three years.
Where
Montgomery County outside Conroe city limits. Porter and New Caney are in Montgomery County, but some addresses near the county line are in Harris County, so check the county for each address.
Income limits
Below 80% of area income: $58,250 for one person up to $109,850 for eight.
Purchase price limits
$285,000 (existing home) and $291,000 (new home) per the 2026–2027 flyer. An earlier 2026 flyer lists $282,000 and $292,000, so confirm.
Credit and lender
30-year fixed FHA, conventional, USDA or VA loan; housing debt ratio 43%; at least $500 in cash assets.
Homebuyer education
A HUD-approved homebuyer class.
Assistance amount
Up to $12,600 per household; no cash back at closing.
Structure
Not stated on the program materials; confirm with the administrator.
Repayment and restrictions
A housing quality inspection; pre-1978 homes get a paint check.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): Easter Seals Greater Houston program page · 2026-2027 program flyer

Availability requires confirmation

Harris County Housing Finance Corporation gift

Harris County Housing Finance Corporation

A $1,000 grant per household, used with a TDHCA loan program.

Status: Subject to available funds for the first 50 approved applicants. Availability requires confirmation.

Full program details
Who it may help
Harris County buyers using a TDHCA single-family loan (TDHCA lists it with My First Texas Home).
Assistance amount
$1,000 per household.
Structure
Grant.

Official sources (reviewed October 15, 2026): Harris County HFC programs page · TDHCA My First Texas Home matrix

Status, limits and amounts change. If a program’s current funding could not be verified, we say that availability requires confirmation. Lender lists: TSAHC lenders · TDHCA lenders · SETH 5 Star. First-time buyer definition: 42 U.S.C. 12704.

Costs explained

What you pay, when you pay it

Down payment versus closing costs

The down payment is the part of the price you pay yourself; the loan covers the rest. Closing costs are separate fees for the loan, title, appraisal and recording, which the CFPB says typically run 2% to 5% of the loan amount. Your lender’s Loan Estimate lists both, plus the total cash to close.

Money due before closing

Earnest money goes to the title company when your offer is accepted and is credited toward your costs at closing. In Texas, the option fee is paid to the seller for the right to end the contract during the option period. Inspections are usually paid when they are done, and the appraisal is often paid upfront to the lender.

Prepaid items and escrow

At closing you also prepay some homeowners insurance and fund an escrow account for property taxes and insurance. These are not lender fees, but they are part of the cash you bring.

Mortgage insurance

With less than 20% down, most loans carry mortgage insurance. FHA charges 1.75% upfront plus an annual premium that usually lasts the life of the loan with under 10% down. Conventional loans use private mortgage insurance, which can usually be removed later. VA has a funding fee instead, and USDA has upfront and annual fees.

Taxes, insurance, HOA, MUD and PID

Your monthly payment includes property taxes and homeowners insurance, plus HOA dues and any MUD or PID assessment. In our area these can change the payment more than the price does, so we look them up for each home before you offer.

How assistance affects your cost

Assistance loans can carry a different interest rate than the same loan without assistance, and a repayable second lien adds to what you owe. Ask your lender for a Loan Estimate with and without assistance so you can compare the rate, the monthly payment and the total cost.

The smallest upfront payment is not always the cheapest

Putting less down means borrowing more, paying interest on a bigger balance, and often paying mortgage insurance longer. A slightly larger down payment, or a loan without assistance, can cost less over time. The right choice depends on how long you plan to stay and how much cash you want to keep in reserve.

Sources: CFPB, down payment · CFPB, closing costs · CFPB, mortgage key terms (earnest money) · CFPB, mortgage insurance · HUD Mortgagee Letter 2023-05 · VA funding fee · USDA fees. Reviewed October 15, 2026.

Illustrative scenarios

How the cash you need can change

Change the assumptions to see how down payment, assistance and credits change the cash needed at closing. These are illustrations, not loan quotes.

Illustrative cash needed at closing by financing option
OptionDown paymentClosing costs and prepaids (assumed)Assistance and creditsEstimated cash neededTotal borrowed
Conventional, 3% down$9,000$10,500$0$19,500$291,000
FHA, 3.5% down$10,500$10,500$0$21,000$294,566 Includes the 1.75% upfront mortgage insurance, financed
FHA, 3.5% down + 5% assistance$10,500$10,500−$14,728$6,272$309,295 Assistance as a % of the total loan, treated here as a second lien
VA, $0 down$0$10,500$0$10,500$306,450 Includes a 2.15% funding fee, financed (exempt veterans pay none)
USDA, $0 down$0$10,500$0$10,500$303,000 Includes the 1% upfront fee, financed

Assumptions: the purchase price, closing-cost percentage, assistance percentage and credit shown above, which you can change; no interest rate is assumed and no monthly payment is calculated. FHA uses the 3.5% minimum down and the 1.75% upfront mortgage insurance added to the loan (HUD); VA uses the 2.15% first-use funding fee added to the loan (exempt veterans pay none); USDA uses the 1% upfront fee added to the loan (fiscal year 2027). Assistance is calculated on the total loan amount and applied to the down payment and closing costs; programs do not pay cash back, so any amount above your costs is not shown as cash. Earnest money, the option fee and inspections are part of these costs but are usually paid before closing; earnest money is credited back at closing. Your Loan Estimate shows the real figures. Eligibility, property requirements, funding availability, and lender approval apply. Zero down does not necessarily mean zero cash needed at closing.

Want monthly payments? Try the FHA, VA, USDA and conventional loan calculators, or estimate cash to close and affordability.

Explore my homebuying options

See which options may be worth discussing

Answer a few questions and we will show programs that may be worth asking a lender about, then a member of our team will follow up. This is not an eligibility determination, a credit check or a preapproval.

Never send your Social Security number, bank logins, account numbers or financial documents through this website. A licensed lender collects those through its own secure application.

Talk to a lender

A Home Front Mortgage introduction

When you are ready, we can introduce you to Andrew Fairleigh, Mortgage Loan Originator with Home Front Mortgage (NMLS #1878546), at (979) 595-8979 or [email protected]. Home Front’s own site lists FHA, VA, USDA, first-time homebuyer and low-down-payment loan options. Applications go through Home Front’s secure portal, never through this website.

The state and local assistance programs on this page each require a lender approved by that program. Home Front Mortgage did not appear on TSAHC’s or TDHCA’s published lender lists when we checked on October 15, 2026, so if you want one of those programs, ask any lender you talk to whether they are approved for it, or use the program’s own lender list.

You are free to choose any lender. Home Front Mortgage is an affiliated business of The Michael O’Neal Group; see the affiliated business disclosure. You are not required to use Home Front to work with us.

Not ready to qualify yet?

Start with a plan. Our free credit help explains how to fix report errors and avoid scams. A HUD-approved housing counselor can help with budgeting and homebuyer education, which many programs require.

Buying new construction?

See verified builder incentives and our new construction guide. Ask how any incentive works with your loan and assistance before you sign.

Choosing an area?

Compare Kingwood, Humble, Atascocita, Porter and New Caney and Northeast Houston communities.

This page is general education, not a loan offer, credit decision or legal or tax advice. Program rules, limits and funding change; confirm every detail with the program and a licensed lender. The Michael O’Neal Group, Keller Williams Realty Northeast, 20665 W. Lake Houston Pkwy, Humble, TX 77346, serves Houston, Kingwood, Humble, Atascocita, Porter, New Caney and Northeast Houston. Last reviewed October 15, 2026.

The O’Neal Insider · Free weekly

Know Houston before everyone else.

Local news, market insights, new construction incentives and weekend ideas. Read this week’s edition.